PBS’ Idea Channel Asks, “Are Bronies Changing the Definition of Masculinity?”

Speaking of being out of the loop, I didn’t know a thing about the “Brony” phenom until I happened upon the video below.  And just what the hell IS a Brony?  Urban Dictionary defines Bronies as:  Teenage to young-adult, mostly male, fans of the animated cartoon “My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic.” The term is often accepted as gender-neutral, and many female fans prefer “brony” over the not-so-popular “pegasister.”

From the Idea Channel YouTube description:

You might assume that the animated TV series “My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic” is for little girls, but Bronies would beg to differ. Bronies are adult men who sincerely LOVE the show, and aren’t afraid to admit it. Many people are baffled, even angered, by Brony culture. With their unabashed appreciation for “My Little Pony”, Bronies are challenging our perception of gender roles, which may be more fluid than previously thought!

Apparently, Bronies have been a thing for a couple of years  now. They’re all over deviantArt, have forums like Ponychan, and have fan sites such as Equestria Daily.  They’ve been getting media coverage as well–  Wired, Huffington Post, and NPR among others.

Daisy Scout meetings were scheduled during the original My Little Pony cartoon time slot, so I had to pass on joining. Maybe these guys are onto something?

Comments

  1. shannonhumphreys says:

    Dude, that show is awesome! I got my Twitter avatar from the bronies. My 4 year old son will happily watch it with me!

    • I thought that might be where it came from… So it’s awesome? I was just looking at reviews on Netflix– there are pages and pages. Maybe I will have to check it out!

      • shannonhumphreys says:

        I’m a cartoon girl, so yeah, I declare it awesome. I was not interested until I heard one of the PowerPuff Girl writers was involved… then I HAD to watch it. Jack complained that it was girlie for the first 3 minutes the first time I put it on… then he just shut up and enjoyed it. There is a small subset of cartoons I enjoy watching with my kids (The Amazing Adventures Of Gumball, Adventure Time, The Grimm Adventures of Billy and Mandy, Courage the Cowardly Dog… okay, there are more so it’s not THAT small), and MLP Friendship is Magic totally makes the cut for me. But I am an overgrown child, so, you know. 😉

  2. I had no clue this show existed (though I saw the memes) let alone Bronies. Thanks for edjibicating me, Sarah!

Leave a Reply

