Kick Ashy Knees To The Curb

You may not know this, but ashy knees are SRS BSNS!  They are annoying as hell and will ruin all your summer photographs, not to mention your beach swagger.  It’s only been properly warm here in the UK for about a week, so mine are currently in their preamble state. No one else will really notice, but I see that little patch of dry, white skin forming, and it’s no bueno!  In another week or so, there will be clearly visible ashy goodness going on, and by the time July rolls around there will be a darker patch in the middle of the lighter patch, all set off to it’s fullest effect by the tan that I will surely be sporting.  Let’s nip this thing in the bud, shall we?

  • Hydration! Drink your water.  *YAWN* I know you’ve heard it a million times, but you can’t fix dry skin if you’re dehydrated
  • Stay away from hot baths/showers.  I’m a hot bath kind of girl, but summer is here, so I think I can manage to keep the temp down to “pleasantly warm”.
  • Exfoliation! You can use any fancy-schmancy scrub you like, but I’m all about kitchen chemistry.  Try a cup of brown sugar, ½ a cup of olive oil, a couple tablespoons of honey and squirt some fresh lemon juice in there for good measure.  You can store the extra in your fridge.
  • Meet your ashy knee savior, coconut oil. Source.

    Moisturize! All the time! After bathing, yes, but whenever you think of it, slap some moisturizer on there. The more the better! What type to use is a topic of hot debate.  Some people like a really thick, creamy cocoa (or shea) butter for this step.  Some people opt for oils.  I think it’s down to personal choice and what works best for your skin. Personally, I’m a coconut oil girl.  Don’t buy coconut oil from a drug store!  You can get more for less at an Asian grocery, and you can use it for EVERYTHING.  Cooking, leave in hair conditioner, you name it.  Also, if you’re in a pinch and need to disguise some knee ash right away, a clear petroleum based diaper rash cream (like A&D) is the bomb.

  • Ashy knee problem:  eradicated.  Have I missed an important trick?  What’s your worst summer beauty issue?  Let me know in the comments, and we’ll work it out together.

Comments

  1. I don’t get ashy knees, I just sweat a lot. I use a lot of Lush Silky Underwear powder.

    • shannonhumphreys says:

      Urgh. I sweat tons. I’m afraid to use powder, as I think it will gunk up and turn to glue on me. I sweat EVERYWHERE. Like, my belly button turns into a deep well of sweaty despair. In Orlando, I just embraced that shizz. I mean, everyone else was sweaty to, so, you know… what evs. I haven’t even begun to explore how I’m going to deal with the sweat factor out here!

Leave a Reply

