Sexy Beach Hair- Anytime You Want!

If you’re anything like me, seeing lovely ladies in bathing suits makes you want to take a trip to the beach, get sand in your ass-crack, and have a few margaritas. A long day at the beach normally leaves me feeling refreshed, sun-drenched, and wavy-haired. That wavy hair, aside from the freckles that appear all over my face, is my favorite side-effect of summertime beach-dwelling. Unfortunately, I can’t spend all summer lying around with freckles and wavy hair, and I’ve spent a long time looking for sprays that can do the same thing. John Frieda used to make one years ago, and I still scour the beauty aisles every summer looking for it. Aquage makes one as well, but for as much as I use the stuff, that’s a lot of money to spend.

So, dear readers, I’ve searched the interwebs for a recipe to make my own sea salt hair spray, and this is what I’ve come up with. I’ve tried a few of them, and this is by far my favorite.

You really only need four ingredients that hardly cost anything..
Now, without further adieu, the recipe!Simple things make for lovely hair!

  •  1 tsp sea salt- you can use more depending on your hair type. The more salt you use, the wavier your hair will be. The salt dries out your hair, though. So fair warning.
  • 1/2 tsp coconut oil- this stuff smells amazing and will help keep your hair from drying out
  • A dollop of hair gel- I didn’t have hair gel and used some clear brow gel in replacement.   It’s what I had around.. so I put it to good use!
  • 8 oz of really warm water- using warm water helps dissolve everything.

Combine everything in a measuring cup and stir until well dissolved.  Pour into a clean spray bottle–  if you don’t have one, you can grab one at just about any drug store or dollar store.

This stuff works really well for me, particularly because  I have slightly oily hair and don’t wash it too frequently due to its often-ridiculous color.  The sea salt doesn’t strip my color, and it makes my hair smell great!

You can also add other things to this spray to suit your particular scalp and scent needs:

      • Essential oils such as lavender and tea tree are great for those with scalp problems or super oily hair
      • Conditioners that are a particular scent you like; just use half coconut oil and half conditioner
      • Other fun hair things. R&B by LUSH Cosmetics smells amazing and lasts forever. It’s worth the investment.

Here’s a little “hair without/hair with” shot for all of you (and yes, I’m not wearing makeup on the internet.  Well, maybe in the first photo i am)…

The norm- pretty straight and to the point.

This is generally what my hair looks like-  It’s fairly straight, and fine.  I have a bunch of it, though.

Waves! Yes!

This is my hair with the spray in it.. I saturated it lightly, and scrunched it with my hands. I only did this lightly, but i really like the results.

Waves up close.

This is my hair up-close.. lots of waves and way fun!

I hope you all enjoy this little weekend/beach project! If any of you lovely readers have recipes for salt sprays you’d like to share, feel free to post in the comments!

-Cecelia Strick9

Comments

  1. shannonhumphreys says:

    Yes! I’m all about the home made beauty products.

Leave a Reply

