On the Fringes of Fandom

A few days ago, I found out that Pottermore had opened up to everyone.  So I signed up, and spent the next two days blasting through the first book’s worth of content, because I am a mature woman.  I love Harry Potter, and an endless list of other books/movies/TV shows that have huge internet fandoms.  As a matter of fact, here’s a short list of things I have and/or still do fangirl over: Comic books, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Cthulhu, Invader Zim, Lost, Heroes, True Blood, DragonLance novels, Lord of the Rings, Tank Girl, Manga and Anime, The Mighty Boosh.  I’m just going to stop there before I embarrass myself any further.

I love, (and sometimes obsess), over all these things, and yet I’ve never considered myself a part of any fandom.  Most people who know me have no idea that I’m into even half of that list.  My house is not full of action figures or framed prints, and I do not read fan fiction.  Not that I think there is anything wrong with being into any of that, it just isn’t my thing.  Especially fan fiction.  I mean, I hear that stuff can get pretty amusing, but poorly written fiction actually angers me.  Seriously, The Da Vinci Code sends me into a rage to this day.  When I think about the weekend of my life I wasted slogging through that poorly written kindling and the amount of money that guy made off of it. RAGE.

Because that’s what Tumblr is for, yo!

I have  found the Internet makes it really easy to indulge your fangirl (or boy) tendencies without losing your entire existence to it. Tumblr is pretty much the perfect tool for keeping your geeking in its place.  I can follow countless blogs devoted to my favourite characters and not have to worry about missing important news from friends and family because my Facebook feed is cluttered with gifs of Magneto and Professor X flirting with each other.  Which is good, because I’m really in it for the pictures of Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy, but not so much so that I want to alienate everyone in my life.

I’m okay with being a bit of a lifelong geek.  There’s nothing wrong with being passionate about the things that inspire you.  Geeking out is fun!  So, shine on you crazy diamonds.  Oh, and if you were wondering, I’m FlooUnicorn24478 on Pottermore.  Ravenclaw rules!

Comments

  1. I’m just getting started on Pottermore, but I sent you a friend request (I’m wavegoblet8566). We’re both Ravenclaw & we both have the same kitty. xx

    • shannonhumphreys says:

      Sweet! In my head, my kitty is called Hiro. Because I’m all about cross reference geek-ing, and we’ve been re-watching the entire run of Heroes.

  2. I’m totally with you on fan fiction. I’ve read a bunch, and some it was really good, but it’s not the same as the real thing. However, I can’t help but buy action figures, shirts, and get tattoos dedicated to things I really love.

    And if Pottermore had all the books opens, I’d never leave. lol

    • shannonhumphreys says:

      I lost all my action figures in the divorce, and I don’t have the cash flow to re-buy all those totally ace Spawn figures I had back in the day. If I was rich, My house would probably look a lot different and Jim would be secretly throwing away all my toys when I wasn’t looking.

  3. I have no idea what you are talking about, and I have never felt cooler. 😉 I kid, I kid. Get this: I have never seen any of the Star Wars movies. At first, it was just something I hadn’t gotten around to. But now, it’s kind of a point of pride. I have also never read or watched anything Harry Potter. And my book report in the 6th grade on The Hobbit was a total lie because I did not read that book. Still haven’t.

    • shannonhumphreys says:

      Dude, I totally saw all the Star Wars movies, first run, in the theater! I was only a few months old when episode IV came out, but my parents took me. And I CRIED during the opening of Phantom Menace. I was THAT excited. I’m like, a geek from infancy.

    • shannonhumphreys says:

      Also, I totally feel that way about Vin Diesel movies. I have never seen one, and I will do my damnedest to never break that streak.

    • I feel this way about the Rocky movies & the Terminator movies, both of which I’ve never seen any of. At first it was really just coincidence, but now it’s sorta this thing. I just won’t watch ’em.

Leave a Reply

