Brittany Bitchsmith’s SOS

I just ate a bunch of crap today. Strangely I don’t feel that bad about it. But I know some people who would…

The Radical Religious Eating Experts!

Otherwise known as the RREE, these well-read, well-meaning, and otherwise reasonable people, think that they personally know the best way to eat–which translates into EXACTLY how they eat. If you know someone who’s religious about a nutritional philosophy, be it vegetarian, vegan, Paleo, organic-only, or what have you (maybe that person is, in fact, you!), you know that a person’s dietary choices can lead to intense animosity between otherwise peace-loving folk.

Why do we get on each other’s cases for what the other person eats? Who cares if you eat organic sprouted quinoa bread or keep packages of free-range cow parts in your freezer, and I eat, say, three boxes of Milk Duds a day? (Which I do sometimes. Ali at the liquor store keeps them restocked for me.)

I can’t write any more of this article because I’m SO stumped as to why people persist in this strange behavior. Can anyone offer a hypothesis?

One more thing…before I make this an us versus them issue, let me admit that I’m a recovering RREE myself. Yes, it’s true! And I don’t even know why I do this. I’m trying to figure this out in support of my own recovery.

Please help!

— Brittany

Comments

  1. I don’t get it either, Brittany. If someone is eating something I don’t like, I don’t feel compelled to tell them about why I disagree with their food choice. I’m just not going to ask for a bite.

    It’s interesting to hear about food politics, and I hope you will tell us more about the subject and being a reformed RREE.

  2. shannonhumphreys says:

    Milk dud ear kitteh makes me smile!
    I’ve pretty much always been awful about food. I eat healthier now than I ever have in my life, but I have NO self control when it comes to junk food. I don’t push my ideas on anyone else, because on top of it being so not my business, who am I to talk? But I do find the whole subject really interesting. WHY do people care? I’m with Sarah, here. I’m glad you brought this up and I’m definitely interested to hear more from you about it!

Leave a Reply

